Heart Pondering

The ponderings of one Christ-following mom on raising preschoolers

Praying for our kids May 4, 2009

Filed under: Prayer — Susan @ Christian Mothering @ 10:37 pm

Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.”  (Col 4:2)

The battle for our children’s lives is waged on our knees.  When we don’t pray, it’s like sitting on the sidelines watching our children in a war zone getting shot at from every angle.  When we do pray, we’re in the battle alongside them, appropriating God’s power on their behalf.”  (S. Omartian, The Power of  a Praying Parent)

It is very easy to want to pray about something.  To know that it’s important to pray.  To mean to pray.  It is infinitely more difficult, I find, to actually do it.  To find the time, to be intentional, to follow through.  But failing to pray for my children  is, in a sense, robbing them… and also robbing myself of the joy, comfort, and peace of uniting my heart for them with God’s love and purpose for them.

I want to be a praying mom.  I want to pray more than just surface “God bless my kids and keep them safe” prayers or passing “God, help me deal with this issue well” prayers.  I want to really enter in and approach the throne of grace on their behalf with specificity.  And of course, I know God wants this too. 

I need to grow in this area.  The first step is to pray that God would light a fire in my heart and will to dig in and do it.

I few helps and encouragements I’ve recently gleaned from several other blogs:

I will pray for my children (there are 12; one for each month – original source is Carl & Audrey Broggi):

1. That they will know Christ early in life. (Psalm 63:1; 2 Timothy 3:15)

2. That they will hate sin. (Psalm 97:10)

3. That they will be caught when guilty. (Psalm 119:71)

4. That they will be protected from the evil one in each area of their lives: spiritual, emotional, physical. (John 17:15)

5. That they have a responsible attitude in all their personal relationships. (Daniel 6:3)

6. That they will respect those in authority over them. (Romans 13:1)

7. That they will desire the right kind of friends and be protected from the wrong friends. (Proverbs 1:10-11)

8. That they will be kept from the wrong mate and saved for the right one. (2 Corinthians 6:14-17)

9. That they, as well as those they marry, will be kept pure. (1 Corinthians 6:18-20)

10. That they will learn to totally submit to God and actively resist Satan in all circumstances. (James 4:7)

11. That they will be single-hearted, willing to be sold out to Jesus Christ.
(Romans 12:1-2)

12. That they will be hedged in so they cannot find their way to wrong people or wrong places and that the wrong people cannot find their way to them. (Hosea 2:6)”

And a few great thoughts pulled out another post on praying for our kids (the whole thing’s worth reading):

“I pray that they will not allow the world to squeeze them into its mold. I pray that they will be strong and secure enough as young women to follow God’s leading- even if He leads them in a way that I don’t understand. But I also pray that they follow the leading of His word, and not their fickle feelings…

I pray that my children will learn to respond to the voice of God in the midst of a world filled with vices designed to lead them astray. I pray that they recognize that they are fearfully and wonderfully made. I pray they learn to revere and celebrate the One who lovingly created them and yearns to guide them into all truth.”

 

3 Responses to “Praying for our kids”

  1. Crystal Says:

    I so want to be a praying mom as well and also struggle with this myself. I received an invitation to subscribe to Pray magazine years ago (I didn’t subscribe), but what came with the mailing was a “prayer card” called 31 Biblical Virtues to Pray for your Kids. It’s helped me tremendously reminding me to pray the Word over my children! You can find them online at http://www.navpress.com/pray under Teaching Kids (unfortunately, not free). But it also looks like they have other great resources to look at for one’s personal, family and child’s prayer life that I’ll now have to check out… Great info you’ve posted here – you always find the greatest blogs!

  2. Sarae Martin Says:

    My number one prayer for my kids is that they will be
    Abiding followers of Jesus! If God answers that prayer, then the rest will fall into place and I can trust the Holy Spirit to work in my kids to transform them!

    But I love the list above. Great thoughts to spend a month on each thing. I also have seen the card that Crystal is talking about…it is worth having!

  3. Erin Says:

    I LOVE THIS! I am printing it out and putting them on cards by my BED – as I am guessing this is the only place where I might actually remember to USE them. Thanks for sharing this. Such a serious matter and one I take oh-so-dangerously lightly.


Leave a Reply

