Heart Pondering

The ponderings of one Christ-following mom on raising preschoolers

Kindred co-mothers May 18, 2009

Filed under: For moms — Susan @ Christian Mothering @ 3:19 am

Jo Ella- Suz VancouverI am supremely blessed to have some wonderful, dear friends – sisters in Christ I’ve known through decades.  These are women to whom I can always turn for advice, support, wisdom, encouragement, or love.  No matter that they are strewn all across the country.  In heart they are always with me, even as we will one day be actually near one another in heaven.

Mothering can be a lonely endeavor, and it has been a particular blessing to me that many of these dear friends became mothers around the same time as I did.  Now, when my husband and I are praying and working through dozens of childrearing issues and questions, they are alongside us in the trenches as well.  With these sisters I can share the joys and challenges I’m facing with my kids, ask advice, be built up.  Few gifts from God have been more encouraging and helpful than having these trusted friends to share my mothering journey with.  Time spent with my closest friends who are co-mothers, pursuing Christ as we raise our little ones, is at once to me an energizing lift and a soothing balm.

This week I am traveling with both my children to visit two of these beloved sisters (sadly leaving daddy home).  It’s been three years since I saw them, and I thank God that He’s provided the chance to go and be with them in person.  I think of Paul’s words in 1 Cor 16:17 – 18 – “I was glad when (my friends) arrived because they… refreshed my spirit.”  What perfect words – refreshing of the spirit.  This is what I so eagerly anticipate in seeing my dear friends and their precious children.

 Today, as I was preparing for and praying through the trip – having traveled solo with my kids several times before but never 6 months pregnant.  I prayed that God would bring deep, abiding, Christ-centered friendships into their lives like the ones He’s so blessed my husband and me with – in these families and others.  As Mark Twain has famously said, “Grief can take care of itself, but to get the full value of joy you must have somebody to divide it with.”  Amen to that! 

 

Leave a Reply

